Menu

Nintendo Schedules Splatoon 2 Global Testfire for Switch Owners

Nintendo Schedules Splatoon 2 Global Testfire for Switch Owners

Gamers who are able to get their hands on the massively popular mobile system from Nintendo will be privy to their Splatoon 2 Global Testfire!  Come inside to find out what that means!

Even though Splatoon 2 doesn't officially hit stores until this Summer, Nintendo will be holding their Splatoon 2 Global Testfire for the lucky few who got their Nintendo Switch on March 3rd.  Don't be too swayed by the "Global Testfire" term, it's just a fancy way of saying beta.  Term aside, the beta will allow for gamers to test their multiplayer skill while facing off against their fellow gamers all around the world!

The testfire will include access to four different main weapons, including the new Splat Dualies, as well as remixed versions of the iconic Splat Roller and Splat Charger.

Additionally, Splatoon 2 producer Hisashi Nogami announced a new way to watch Splatoon 2 matches.  The mode is called Private Battle Spectator View and will allow for 2 non-players to act as cameramen and observe the match from different angles.  Finally, a game where I can live my dream of working a video game.  In all seriousness, the mode sounds more like its skewed toward eSports gamers strategizing, rather than the average joe.

Included with this new mode was the promise that up to 10 docked Switches (8 players, 2 spectators) could play in the same match together with LAN Play.

As for the Testfire itself, the beta event will go live March 24-26 during the following times:

March 24

  • 12-12:59 p.m. PT / 3-3:59 p.m. ET
  • 8-8:59 p.m. PT / 11-11:59 p.m. ET

March 25

  • 4-4:59 a.m. PT / 7-7:59 a.m. ET
  • 12-12:59 p.m. PT / 3-3:59 p.m. ET
  • 8-8:59 p.m. PT / 11-11:59 p.m. ET

March 26

  • 4-4:59 a.m. PT / 7-7:59 a.m. ET

Are you ready for the Global Testfire?  Let us know below!

Splatoon 2 comes out this Summer on the Nintendo Switch!