For Redwall! A Netflix Adaptation of the Redwall Stories is in the Works

In big news for fans of Brian Jacques’ Redwall series, Netflix announced today that an animated adaptation of the beloved book series is in the works.

This is not the first time the Redwall story has been adapted in an animated format, as an animated series covered the first three Redwall books in the 1990s. However, the full series comprises 22 books in total, meaning most of these stories have never been adapted at all.

The Netflix adaptation of Redwall will be overseen by Patrick McHale, the creator of Over the Garden Wall. The adaptation, at the moment, will consist of two parts. The first will be an animated feature film adaptation of the first Redwall book, which tells the story of the young Abbey mouse Matthias and his journey to become a warrior when the dreaded Cluny the Scourge attacks Redwall Abbey. At the same time, Netflix will also be creating an event series that follows the life of Martin the Warrior, one of the founders of Redwall Abbey, and a pivotal character in his own right.

No other details are known at this time, and it’s not clear when the feature film or the series following Martin the Warrior will enter production. But just knowing that these projects are in the works, by Netflix no less, will be enough to make lifelong fans of the Redwall books (myself among them) very happy. With 22 stories to adapt, there is potential for Redwall to become a huge animated franchise, and it will be exciting to see how the adaptation proceeds.