Warner Bros. Begins Production On Ocean’s 8

Starting today, Warner Bros. and Director Gary Ross (Seabiscuit, The Hunger Games, Free State of Jones) begin production on their all-female reboot of the Ocean’s franchise.  Contrary to its predecessors, there won’t be 11 members.  Instead, 8 female actors consisting of Sandra Bullock, Cate Blanchett, Anne Hathaway, Mindy Kaling, Helena Bonham Carter, Sarah Paulson, Rihanna, and Awkwafina will join forces in a new heist film, Ocean’s 8.

While there are only 8, the team seems reminiscent of 2001’s elite team of George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Matt Damon, Bernie Mac, Casey Affleck, Scott Caan, Don Cheadle etc.  You’ve got your A-Listers in Bullock, Blanchett, and Hathaway much like Clooney, Pitt, and Damon are.  Then, there is the supporting crew that round out the rest.  

Not much is known about the plot of Ocean’s 8, so far, but Steven Soderburg (Ocean’s Eleven Director) is producing the film.  Hopefully, this means he’ll be able to bring that same charm he brought in the first film, which never translated to the other two.  Fortunately, with a cast of actors they have signed to Ocean’s 8, there shouldn’t be any shortage of charm.

Ocean’s 8 is set for a Summer 2018 release!

For the full Warner Bros. PR, see below:

BURBANK, CA – November 2, 2016 – The tide has turned and it’s a whole new “Ocean’s” when eight women plan and execute a heist in New York.  Oscar winner Sandra Bullock stars in the title role, alongside Oscar winners Cate Blanchett and Anne Hathaway, Mindy Kaling, Sarah Paulson, Awkwafina, with Rihanna and Oscar nominee Helena Bonham Carter.  Oscar-nominated filmmaker Gary Ross is directing.

Ross directs from a screenplay he wrote with Olivia Milch (upcoming “Dude”), with Steven Soderbergh and Jon Kilik producing, Michael Tadross, Susan Ekins, Sandra Bullock, Diana Alvarez and Bruce Berman executive producing, and Milch co-producing.  Filming is taking place in and around New York City.

Collaborating with Ross behind the scenes are director of photography Eigil Bryld (“In Bruges,” “Not Fade Away”), production designer Alex DiGerlando (“Beasts of the Southern Wild,” HBO’s “True Detective”), editor Juliette Welfling (“Free State of Jones,” “The Hunger Games”), costume designer Sarah Edwards (“Tower Heist,” Showtime’s “Billions”), and composer Nicholas Britell (“The Big Short,” “Free State of Jones”).

The film is set for release in Summer 2018 and will be distributed worldwide by Warner Bros. Pictures, a Warner Bros. Entertainment Company, and in select territories by Village Roadshow Pictures.