Destiny 2 Expansions Announced Through 2022, Intergenerational Support, Content Vault and More

The future of Destiny 2 has been revealed and includes a host of new content expansions that will take players into 2022. Get your first look here!
General Manager Mark Noseworthy and Game Director Luke Smith took to the digital stage today to announce content plans for Destiny 2 including three new expansions and the newest season (which launches today).

Destiny 2: Beyond Light is the first of the three planned expansions and is set to launch on Sept. 22, 2020.

“As part of its single evolving world, Bungie has crafted both Season of Arrivals and the Beyond Light expansion to continue the thrilling narrative featuring Guardians in their ongoing battle to save humanity. Mysteries will be revealed, new powers will be discovered, and the true menace of the Pyramid ships will be explored. And it all starts today with Season of Arrivals,” a press release said. “For months, the mysterious Pyramid ships have been making their way to our solar system, their purpose unknown but their menace clear. In Season of Arrivals, the moon of Io will see the arrival of the first Pyramid ship, setting off a chain of events that will unfold throughout the Season, into the Beyond Light expansion, and beyond.”

In Beyond Light, players will travel to the never before seen moon of Europa to take on Eramis in what Noseworthy and Luke say has been an inevitable crash course since the series first launched in 2014 and that Beyond Light is going to fundamentally change the game.

“The splintered houses of the Fallen have rallied and built their new empire on Europa, united under the banner of the Fallen Kell of Darkness, Eramis. Abandoned by the Traveler and left by the Light, Eramis is on her own journey into the Darkness, and towards a collision course with Guardians.”

Luke said the “beginning of a brand new era of Destiny” in Beyond Light will be heralded in as players discover the true nature of light and darkness while gaining the ability to able to wield the darkness through stasis. Joining solar, arc and void, darkness is the first new element added to be the game in six years, Noseworthy said, and will allow players to summon epic supers and control the battlefield.

Developers have no plans to “add another number to the box,” Luke said. Instead, Bungie has announced the two subsequent expansions set to launch over the next few years.

Destiny 2: The Witch Queen will release in 2021 and Destiny 2: Lightfall in 2022.

Developers said there are planned changes and improvements to the game and seasonal model of the game in addition to providing players with next-generation support as we see the release the Xbox Series and X and PlayStation 5 later this year. Destiny 2 will play in 4K and 60 fps on next generation consoles.

Players who move up within one family of consoles (from PS4 to PS5 for example) will have access to all progress and content from the previous generation. Destiny 2 will also allow for inter-generational cross-play as well, Noseworthy said, with hopes for total cross-platform compatibility by next year.

Bungie is also taking a look at legacy content with plans to move certain aspects of the game like destinations, raids, etc. to the official Destiny Content Vault. The plan is to “unvault” older content each year, including content from Destiny 1.

Destiny 2’s next season launches today with Season of Arrivals. Bungie also announced that a new dungeon called Prophecy is dropping free for all players tonight a 7 p.m. CST.

“A dark omen enters the system and a signal howls through the emptiness of space. In the shadow of the mysterious Pyramid ship, Guardians must search for answers. The ongoing narrative in Destiny’s evolving universe continues with the launch of the eleventh Season: Season of Arrivals.”

New Dungeon: Later on today, Guardians will be challenged with a new dungeon, Prophecy, available to all Destiny 2 players. Face the mystery and unlock the new DAITO Foundry armor and reprised Trials of the Nine armor sets.

Decipher the Darkness: Throughout the Season, Messages of Darkness will be found on Io. Journey to the Cradle on Io and uncover these hidden communications.

Contact Public Event: Join Guardians in public events beneath the newly arrived Pyramid ship on Io, where an untapped power has summoned the enemies of humanity.

New Rewards: By Focusing new engrams in Season of Arrivals, players can choose their rewards. The new engram Focusing system introduces the ability (once earned) for players to fine-tune their rewards.

New Gear:  Amazing new weapons await as players prepare to fend off the latest threat to humanity. Season Pass owners will instantly unlock the new Witherhoard Exotic Grenade Launcher and Seasonal armor set.

Players can pre-order Destiny 2: Beyond Light now to get instant access to a special Exotic Ghost Shell and Legendary Emblem! Digital Deluxe owners also receive instant access to the new Exotic Freeze Tag emote. Pre-orders for Destiny 2: Beyond Light are available now on Steam, Stadia, Xbox One, and will be available soon on the PlayStation Store.

Destiny 2: Beyond Light Digital Deluxe Edition
The Destiny 2: Beyond Light Digital Deluxe Edition will be available to pre-order on all platforms:

  • Destiny 2: Beyond Light Expansion + Full Year of Seasonal Content (4 Seasons Total)
  • With pre-order: Exotic Rimed Ghost Shell and Legendary Emblem
  • Freeze Tag Exotic Emote
  • No Time to Explain Exotic Pulse Rifle with Exotic Catalyst and Ornament
  • Any Other Sky Exotic Sparrow

Destiny 2: Beyond Light Collector’s Edition
The Destiny 2: Beyond Light Collector’s Edition will only be available from the Bungie Store:

  • Beyond Light Digital Deluxe Edition (digital code only)
  • Die-Cast Splinter of Darkness Replica with lights
  • Europa Explorer’s Bag
  • Europa Exploration Canteen
  • Mysterious Logbook
  • Plus other discoveries from Europa

Destiny 2: Beyond Light The Stranger Edition
The Stranger Edition is the only way for fans to access an exclusive 10” statue of The Stranger, sold with purchase of the Deluxe Edition at select retailers worldwide.