SEGA Ages is Getting a Nintendo Switch Revival

SEGA Ages was a series of game collections launched back in the mid-90s on the Saturn (with only one volume actually making it’s way to the West); with the purpose of bringing ports of classic games/arcade titles to a new generation of gamers. While SEGA games have seen a number of classic game collections over the years, this morning brings the announcement that they’re bringing back the SEGA Ages games for the Nintendo Switch, bringing a series of retro titles to the modern platform.


There’s no formal release date set right now, but the first batch of SEGA Ages titles will arrive this Summer with five games: 

Alex Kidd in Miracle World (Sega Master System)

Phantasy Star (Sega Master System)

Thunder Force IV (Sega Genesis)

Sonic the Hedgehog (Sega Genesis)

Gain Ground (Arcade)

More and more will be coming down the road with the SEGA Ages series, with the company promising that the collection will mark the first time that several of their classic titles will be getting a release in the West. For retro gamers, that’s a pretty cool deal, and we’ll just have to wait and see what else they have in store for us. 

For now, the Summer line-up looks pretty solid with some great games to replay on the Switch. Will you be picking up the new SEGA Ages