Most Anticipated Sequences in LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga

With a ridiculous amount of Star Wars to choose from, these are the levels/sequences we can’t wait to play in LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga.

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga is right around the corner, the quirky video game adaptation of the beloved franchise will bring 40 years of storytelling to life in the familiar and fun style that TT has solidified in their titles. With 9 beloved films to adapt into 5 levels and free roam sequences, fans will get to relive their favorite moments in the driver’s seat. Below are my most anticipated sequences in LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga, one from each film.

Duel of Fates (The Phantom Menace)

The most iconic and beloved scene in the Skywalker Saga’s opening chapter, even fans who didn’t like the prequels can’t deny humming that tune to themselves on occasion. With this game’s improved combat and third-person perspective, boss fights like this will be very different from versions in previous LEGO games.

Battling between various platforms against Darth Maul and his impenetrable blades, while utilizing the updated combat system to take down the Sith Lord will make the boss fights of this LEGO game infinitely more rewarding.

Geonosian Arena (Attack of the Clones)

One of the most memorable sequences from Attack of the Clones is the battle in the Geonosian Arena, it kicked off a mind-blowing third act of monsters, Lightsabers, and blaster bolts that lived up to the name Star WARS.

Glimpses at this sequence have shown Anakin using force abilities to tear through battle droids and while battling a saber-wielding enemy is bound to be fun, the satisfaction of tearing through drones as a powerful Jedi will be a wholly different experience.

Battle of Heroes (Revenge of the Sith)

Previous LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga had many memorable levels, but the most intense and fast-paced sequence in the game had to be Revenge of the Sith‘s final level on Mustafar.

While its focus on the battle between Anakin and Obi-Wan was minimal, the timer and collapsing area made an engaging level that drove you to escape the hellish chaos. The Skywalker Saga, however, seems to be putting a heavier focus on the battle. As a game with co-op at its core, a sequence where players can battle it out with the skills of a Jedi will be a change of pace that requires replay.

Death Star (A New Hope)

Along with its revamped Lightsaber combat and new Force abilities, LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga has also made a major update to gunplay. Rather than the simple button mashing of previous games, it introduces third-person shooter gameplay; requiring players to aim down sights to shoot their enemies.

In their escape from the Death Star in A New Hope, Luke, Han, Leia, and Chewie had more than one shootout with Imperial Forces. Wielding their blasters to take down hordes of Stormtroopers while jumping behind cover is bound to capture the intense energy of the film’s sequence.

Cloud City Escape (The Empire Strikes Back)

Much like the Death Star, escaping Cloud City is sure to offer players the gunslinging action they’d always want from their favorite heroes. But where Cloud City will differ is its big setpiece and boss fight, Boba Fett.

LEGO games are known to take creative liberties with certain scenes from the projects they adapt and this game is no different. From gameplay trailers, we can see that escaping from Cloud City will include a battle. Not just with Boba, but with Boba Fett piloting his Firespray Gunship. It’s a big change compared to clashing sabers or trading blaster shots and it’ll be intriguing to see play out.

The Sarlacc Pit (Return of the Jedi)

The fight sequence at Jabba’s Sail Barge will give players a chance to go toe to toe with Boba Fett outside of his gunship. No doubt it will end with him face-planting into the belly of the beast but it won’t take away from the fun battling the bounty hunter.

The many floating ships might also offer an interesting gameplay element, perhaps leaping between platforms to battle the next horde of enemies eventually making it to the barge to unite with Leia and destroy the barge. While perhaps not the most iconic scene in Jedi, it will be a lot of fun to battle Jabba’s goons about the Pit of Carcoon.

Poe and Finn Escape (The Force Awakens)

In last month’s gameplay overview, it was revealed that LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga would also introduce multiple options in tackling a level’s objective. The main example of this is Poe escaping the First Order Star Destroyer. You can approach it stealthily and sneak through vents or aggressively and blast troopers as you run through the ships.

This level of choice in the game gives an even more immersive and replayable aspect to levels with the feature. It shows care and attention to detail that no one expected from TT, crafting into an even more incredible game.

Battle of Crait (The Last Jedi)

We can hardly talk about Star Wars without mentioning any vehicle sequences. The Last Jedi‘s scenes on Crait were stunning, the crystal white salt contrasted by the crimson red soil made striking imagery that drove the entire film’s marketing.

Piloting one of the rickety Rebel Ski Speeders as Poe, Finn, or Rose against TIE Fighters, AT-M6’s and a slowly charging battering ram cannon will be a brilliant gameplay experience. Thanks to the graphical updates in this game, it can also be one of its most beautiful. However, after Battlefront 2‘s (2017) version of the sequence, there is a high bar to meet.

Final Battle (The Rise of Skywalker)

This may be slightly broad but it’s difficult to nail one aspect down in the craziness of this film’s final sequences. We have seen a few different glimpses at this film’s final moments, it’s unclear how it will all come together but we can presume that the level will jump around a few characters.

From uniting the dyad as Ben and Rey, to battling Sith Troopers as Finn and Jannah, and then even blasting TIE Fighters in Poe’s X-Wing. The Rise of Skywalker‘s final action sequences could all offer some brilliant gameplay and will test a player’s skill across multiple combat styles.

With 5 levels per film and 9 films to adapt, I’ve hardly scratched the surface of the endless opportunity each film will bring in its gameplay potential. LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga is set to be one of the most iconic Star Wars gaming experiences yet.

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga releases on April 5th on all platforms.

Previous articleEverything We Learned About LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga at IGN Fan Fest
Next articleHow the MCU’s Multiverse Works